Electronic Music  


Devious Gray


  Pop and Rock  

Dave Flowers

Synthetic Chocolate

Spiral Anne

  Additional Legacy  

The Consul

•  •  •

View All Artists
 Analog To Digital
 Brazilian Brass

« Return to Discography Page

Rocky Mountain Highs (best of 1986-1989)

Download Not Currently Available

Track List 
1  Carbon Dioxide    1:43 
2  Escape    1:45 
3  Analog To Digital    2:33 
4  Nineteen Eighty Nine    2:58 
5  Camel    1:59 
6  Happy Madness    2:47 
7  Lips    1:22 
8  Skeletone    2:53 
9  Star Flute    5:00 
10  Brazillian Brass    2:00 
11  Square Roots    1:58 
12  Screaming Teens    1:31 
13  Bonus BYTES    1:13 
14  Harem    1:28 
15  Chip Off The Block    1:44 
16  Fashion    2:00 
17  Techniflavour    3:41 
18  The Piper    2:43 
19  Infatuation    3:04 
20  Melotronically Speaking    1:20 
21  Voices    2:03 
22  Little Town O Bethleham    1:56 
23  Synthlude    1:23 
24  The Limosine    2:14 
25  Oh Suzanna    3:35 
26  Rags    2:11 
27  Progress    0:55 
28  Madness Intro    0:51 
29  Day Of Doom (part two)    1:45 
30  Sweet Dreams    4:04 

Approximate Total Playing Time: 66:54 minutes - 30 tracks

Album Notes:
If there were such a thing as a greatest hits for my early recordings created while I was in high school, this would be it. For the compilation, I remixed some of the original tracks with a little bit of reverb (they were a bit dry), and a few of them got sliced and diced from their original form. So even if you have the earlier records, this release might prove to be interesting due to the shorter versions and improved sound quality on some of the tracks.

For those who don't have any of my earlier work or know my history, let me fill you in on the story so far... This music is part of an on-going project I am doing and have been doing since early high school. One might call it a longevity art project.

Realizing that I had a love for both electronics and music, I pursued both simultaneously - electronic music made with synthesizers. I started experimenting with recording techniques, and at some point, I decided to keep an archive of the recordings I made - from then on. That was in December of 1986 (I was fifteen years old).

My very first recordings were made using an old reel-to-reel tape recorder, a cheap microphone, and things I found around the house. For example, my mother's pots and pans. She'd come home from work and I would have them arranged on the floor in front of the microphone - banging on them like drums with wooden spoons. Unfortunately, these early tapes didn't survive, or maybe fortunately...

The first recordings I felt worth keeping were still very basic, as I had no previous recording experience and no training as a musician or keyboardist. It was 100 percent trial and error. I owned a single synthesizer capable of only one tone at a time and I had a cassette recorder. I became obsessed with recording and, although most of these earlier tapes are instrumental, they became my diary. I would often ditch school and return home to record music once my parents had left for work. Three years later, I had filled twelve cassettes full of music and was using a significantly more advanced recording setup, although still very simple by my current standards (a single keyboard, a drum machine, a homemade transistor mixer and a cassette deck).

In 1989, I graduated from high school and moved away from my childhood town in Colorado. I consider this to be the end of a short but highly productive era in my musical history.

I have been somewhat careful to hang onto my entire recording archive, but looking back at some of the crazy journeys I've made, it is truly amazing that any of them survived. Even more unbelievable is that I still own the drum machine that was used on most of these tracks - and believe me, I know that some of the sounds on that thing are barely listenable... but it's all I had. So I did the best I could do with it... And no, I don't use the drum machine much anymore - although I believe it is still functional.

So this is the first of what I hope to be many eras in my musical journey through life. I plan to continue recording my musical endeavors for the remainder of my days here on earth, as it seems to be my passion. The first in a series of 'Greatest Hits' compendiums to come, this compilation is a glimpse into some of the more interesting moments captured during my high school years.

Recording Notes:
Recorded in Fort Collins, Colorado using two cassette recorders and a homemade mixer (some tracks were made using a Radio Shack mixer my dad eventually bought for me). To get the multiple instruments on a 2-track cassette, I used a method known as bouncing tracks or ping-ponging tracks (with the two cassette decks). I bounced the tracks back and forth between the two cassettes, adding a new instrument with each pass.

All instruments played, composed, recorded and engineered by Supaflower.

• Genre: Electronic
• Release Date: May 1990
• Catalog Number: Opus 13

Additional Images:

« Return to Discography Page

Download Not Currently Available

* Downloads are single zip files containing all tracks and artwork in highest quality (MP3 or FLAC files encoded at high bit rates CBR / jpg images in high quality and resolution).